The city’s oldest temple, built for two Sung princes
- 130 Junction Road
- Open daily 8am - 5pm
- +852 2336 0375
Hong Kong oldest temple?
This is one of the oldest temples in the city! Built more than a thousand years ago, its origin can be traced back to the Sung dynasty, when it was not more than a wooden shack. Today, it's an exquisite tranquil temple adorned with unique calligraphy. The goose (鵞) character on the stone wall was done by a 19th-century scholar and is an amazing display of artistic skill.
About 1,000 years ago, the last two princes from the Chinese Sung dynasty fled from the invading Mongolians all the way to Kowloon. Popular legend has it that the brave General Hau Wong led the two young princes on their dangerous journey. This temple was built to honour his loyalty.
…or Dr Yeung?
Other sources claim that howling wolves kept the young princes awake at night throughout the journey. Doctor Yeung Yi Pak Kun managed to cure their insomnia, and therefore, the temple was dedicated to him.
Original incense burner
The incense burner at the entrance is the oldest original artefact in the temple, dating back to 1847, the days of the opium wars. It was a gift from Qing dynasty officials from Beijing to their Kowloon colleagues, who were in charge of the Hong Kong Island administration.